Markham School Hot-Lunch Vendors, Prices & Fundraising Calculator

Markham · School hot lunch

Food choices, prices, contacts and delivery details in one place—plus a calculator to see how much your school could raise after costs.

By Yan Zhou · Last checked: September 12, 2026 · Prices in Canadian dollars · Independent reference, not a YCDSB-approved vendor list

Before comparing prices: most suppliers quote each school separately. “Quote required” means a current school price was not publicly available—not that the service is expensive or unavailable. Every supplier must confirm delivery to your exact school and lunch time.

Find a vendor by food type

11 suppliers and restaurant options, grouped to make a shortlist easier. Start with the food your school wants, then compare the menu, price status and contact details.

An official school program is not a confirmed booking for your school. Boston Pizza and Subway are local restaurant leads whose school arrangements need confirmation. No supplier has provided a direct quote for this guide.

Start with vendors close to your school

Catholic School Council (CSC) members and hot-lunch volunteers should first look for suitable vendors near the school. A shorter delivery route can help meals arrive warm and on time. Ask which kitchen will actually prepare the food, how many stops come before your school and how meals will be transported.

Distance alone does not guarantee safe food. Confirm insulated transport, arrival and serving times, and temperature checks with the school. Food requiring temperature control must be kept appropriately hot or cold—not simply lukewarm. See York Region’s school food-service guidance.

Pizza & pasta

Compare pizza-day programs and local restaurant options. Boston Pizza still needs to confirm a school arrangement.

All categories

Boston Pizza

Markham restaurants · School-lunch arrangements need branch confirmation

School quote requiredRetail offers are not school-program prices

Food choices

Pizza and pasta are options to discuss with the restaurant. Request its current school menu, portion sizes and permitted substitutions—not the regular dine-in menu or a general children’s promotion.

Delivery & classroom packing

The Markham Road restaurant lists delivery. A recurring school route, lunch-time arrival, minimum order, delivery charge and class-labelled packing have not been confirmed. Ask whether meals arrive individually portioned or need volunteers to serve them.

Fundraising & extras

No current Markham school rebate, wholesale price or free-meal allowance was found. Request a written school price and permission to add a fundraising amount. Do not apply a dine-in “kids eat free” promotion to school orders.

Ordering, payment & other Markham branches

Ask the manager about T1/T2/T3 price protection, order deadlines, school invoices, deposits, accepted payment methods and cancellation credits. A restaurant’s opening time is not a promised school delivery time.

50 E. Valhalla Drive: 905-201-5230.
7020 Warden Avenue: 905-305-6446.
Confirm which branch can serve your school.

Pizza Nova

Official School Lunch Program · School postal-code enquiry

School quote requiredNo public school price list found

Food choices

Pizza lunches for classes, school fundraisers and events. Ask for the school-approved cheese, pepperoni and alternative-topping choices, pizza size, slices per pizza and any individual wrapping charge. The regular restaurant menu is not the same as the school menu.

Delivery & classroom packing

The school enquiry begins with your school’s postal code. Confirm the assigned restaurant address, route, arrival window, minimum order, delivery fee and whether orders can be labelled and sorted by class.

Fundraising & extras

The program welcomes school fundraising enquiries, but a rebate, permitted markup and complimentary pizza allowance are not publicly specified. Request all three in the quote; do not assume the brand’s charity campaigns are a council rebate.

Ordering and payment questions

Ask for per-pizza and per-slice costs including tax, a price valid for each term, order-change deadlines, school invoice/payment terms and closure-day credits. Confirm nutrition and ingredient documents for the actual school order.

Pizza Pizza

Pizza Day program · Confirm the preparing branch and school delivery

School quote requiredAsk per pizza and per wrapped slice

Food choices

Cheese and pepperoni pizzas, plus individually packaged slices. Large: 14 inches / 8 slices. Extra-large: 16 inches / 10 slices. Alternative crusts and toppings may cost more.

Delivery & classroom packing

The program recommends at least 48 hours’ notice. Confirm delivery charges, classroom labels/sorting, minimum order and the final change deadline.

Fundraising & extras

Advertised offer: one free large three-topping volunteer pizza when buying at least six pizzas; premium toppings cost extra. This is an offer condition, not a verified general order minimum. Napkins and gloves are available on request, subject to stock.

Pricing and payment questions

Ask for term prices, delivery tax/fees, school invoice and payment terms, cancellation credits and permission to set a fundraising selling price. A free volunteer pizza reduces catering needs; it is not cash fundraising income.

Subs & burgers

Hero publishes a school menu. Subway arrangements need to be agreed with the local franchise.

All categories

Subway

Local catering location · School pricing and service are franchise-specific

School quote requiredAsk for a school meal—not retail pricing

Food choices

Subs, wraps and salads appear on the local restaurant offering. Ask which school-size sandwiches, breads, fillings, vegetarian choices and toppings can be supplied. Specify whether the quote includes a drink or side.

Delivery & classroom packing

The Eastown Plaza location lists catering and delivery. A school lunch contract is not confirmed by that listing. Ask for individually wrapped, clearly labelled meals, class-by-class bags, substitution controls and a reliable school drop-off window.

Fundraising & extras

No public school price, council rebate, delivery fee or free-volunteer-meal entitlement was verified. Negotiate with the franchise manager; terms from another Subway may not apply.

Ordering and payment questions

Request minimum quantities, final changes, school invoices, payment deadlines, T1/T2/T3 menus and cancellation rules. Confirm safe holding arrangements if sandwiches arrive before lunch. Ask whether a school ordering platform is supported and who pays its fees.

Hero Certified Burgers

Published GTA school-lunch program · Current online school menu

School burger from $5.80Confirm tax, delivery and any packing fees

Food choices & published school prices

School-menu prices displayed September 12, 2026; the 4 oz burger is marked effective September 2026. A gluten-free bun is listed at $1 extra. These are not confirmed all-in costs for your school.

Delivery & classroom packing

The program describes individually wrapped burgers labelled with the student’s name and food item, packed in sealed bags or catering boxes. Contact the team at least a week ahead. Ask for class sorting and an exact delivery window.

Fundraising & extras

Condiments and napkins are included as described by the program. A cash rebate, free-meal allowance and markup permission still need confirmation.

Invoices, minimums and term planning

An invoice/receipt can be provided before or on delivery. Confirm payment due dates, school minimums, delivery charges, T1/T2/T3 prices, cancellation terms and a term-based ordering workflow with fixed deadlines.

Greek meals

A souvlaki or rice-based lunch option, with an older public menu clearly labelled as a reference.

All categories

Astoria Shish Kebob House

Published GTA school-lunch proposal · Request a renewed 2026–27 quote

2026–27 quote requiredPublic price reference below is from 2025–26

Food choices

The published school proposal includes chicken souvlaki, chicken fingers and spinach pie entrées with rice and vegetables; pita meals, hot dogs, cheeseburgers and Greek salad are also listed. Confirm the current school menu.

See the dated 2025–26 menu and price reference

Historical reference only: proposal dated June 2025 for 2025–26. These are not verified 2026–27 prices.

The same proposal states a $200 minimum and no deliveries after noon; prices can vary with the delivery provider. Reconfirm every term, including tax and fees.

Delivery & classroom packing

Ask whether your school’s lunch time fits the current route, and request labelled portions, class-sorted bags, delivery fees and an urgent contact. The regional restaurant address below is not confirmation that it will prepare your order.

Fundraising & payment

The older proposal names Lunchbox by SchoolCash Online and Healthy Hunger. Those are not School-Day. For the workflow in this guide, request a school bulk-order quote and invoice while parents pay the school through School-Day. Confirm markup, rebates, complimentary meals and school payment terms.

Sushi & Asian meals

Both suppliers explicitly describe Markham school service. MealBets also offers other meal types.

All categories

MI•NE Sushi

School lunches explicitly offered in Markham and Aurora

School quote requiredAsk for item counts and meal inclusions

Food choices

Portioned sushi rolls and boxed meals. Request the current school menu, roll/piece counts and cooked or vegetarian choices. The school-program page does not provide a complete priced menu; confirm ingredients and substitutions for each proposed item.

Delivery & classroom packing

The supplier offers recurring school lunches and school-event catering, with direct ordering or Healthy Hunger. Confirm the exact Markham route, lunch arrival time, class-sorted labels, minimum order, delivery charge and safe holding arrangements.

Fundraising & extras

School price, permitted markup, council rebate and complimentary meals are not publicly stated. Ask who sets the parent selling price and whether packaging, utensils or platform fees are extra.

Ordering, payment & food questions

Ask for school invoices, payment deadlines, T1/T2/T3 menus, change cutoffs, absences and cancellation credits. For sushi, establish whether each choice is cooked or raw and obtain ingredient/allergen and safe-temperature information; do not assume a vegetarian roll is free of cross-contact.

MealBets

Participating Markham schools explicitly listed · Check your school in the app

Public menu from $7.99Current checkout price controls

Food choices & published prices

These are advertised category starting prices, not a council’s wholesale quote. Meal and portion affect the total. The FAQ still says $7.49; verify current prices in the app or a dated quote.

The $13.99 Deluxe Full Meal is also advertised, but the supplier excludes it from its PPM 150 compliance claim. Do not treat it as an automatically eligible school-menu choice.

Delivery & classroom packing

No separate service or delivery fee is advertised for participating-school lunches. Grouped orders go to an agreed school drop-off point. Meals are individually labelled; confirm class-by-class sorting and minimum quantities.

Fundraising & extras

Fundraising is offered, but the rate and council markup rights are not public. Backup meals are mentioned—not a guaranteed free-meal allowance.

Portions, ordering and payment

Some categories list 260 g, 350 g and 450 g portions; sushi uses item counts. Published app prices and ordering terms describe the supplier’s own system—not School-Day. Custom ingredient changes are not supported.

Confirm whether MealBets can accept consolidated school orders and invoice the school while parents pay through School-Day. Obtain a specific quote, cancellation rules, fundraising arrangements and T1/T2/T3 deadlines for that setup. This arrangement has not been confirmed. Published postal codes differ; also confirm the preparing and billing address.

Full-menu caterers

Useful when a school wants a rotating menu rather than a single restaurant day.

All categories

Kids Catering

Markham-based caterer · Confirm your school’s delivery route

School quote requiredNo current public meal price found

Food choices

School lunches and snacks; seasonal four-week menus. A current item-by-item school menu is not published on the page reviewed. Ask Irene for dishes, portions and prices rather than relying on food photographs.

Delivery & classroom packing

Individual containers labelled with the child’s name and room number. The website describes delivery within an hour of serving and hot-box arrangements. Confirm class-by-class packing; this appears in a customer testimonial, not a service guarantee.

Fundraising & extras

Markup permission, rebates, complimentary meals, delivery charges and minimum quantities need a written quote.

Ordering and payment questions

Online ordering depends on school numbers. Ask about T1/T2/T3 menus, term-based orders and payments, invoice frequency, fixed deadlines and credits for cancelled lunches.

Kid’s Kitchen

York Region school service advertised · Confirm your school

School quote requiredAsk for a current school menu

Food choices

Published examples include chicken drumsticks, pasta, cheese ravioli, vegetable chili, burgers, chicken fingers, soups, sandwiches and wraps. À-la-carte items and lunch combinations are described; availability varies.

Delivery & classroom packing

Individually portioned meals and lunchtime school delivery are advertised. Request the exact arrival window, classroom sorting, individual labels, minimum order and any delivery or packing fee.

Fundraising & extras

The program advertises school donations and fundraising options, but no public dollar amount or percentage. Ask how the payment is calculated, when it is paid and whether the council may add a markup.

Ordering and payment details

The supplier’s direct-ordering policies are not instructions for paying through School-Day. Ask for consolidated school ordering, school invoices and term-based deadlines while parents pay the school. Published same-day cancellation directions conflict; obtain one current written rule for your arrangement.

Kid’s Kitchen identifies itself as part of The Lunch Lady Group. These are related options, not necessarily independent quotes.

The Lunch Lady

School meal network · Ask which kitchen serves your school

School quote requiredLocal menu and portions vary

Food choices

Examples include spaghetti and meatballs, chicken teriyaki, mac and cheese, chicken wraps, chicken drumsticks, butter chicken and Caesar salad. Confirm the current local menu and dietary options.

Delivery & classroom packing

Daily, weekly, monthly or occasional lunches are offered. Ask for labelled meals sorted by class, a confirmed delivery window, minimum quantities and a complete fee schedule.

Fundraising & extras

School fundraising lunch days are offered. The public page does not state a rebate, markup allowance or complimentary-meal entitlement.

Ordering and payment details

Monthly reporting is offered. For this guide’s School-Day payment model, confirm that the supplier can accept a consolidated school order and invoice the school. Do not assume automatic integration with School-Day. Agree on term menus, price changes and any applicable school-paid fees.

The Markham address is head office, not proof of a delivery route. Kid’s Kitchen is part of the same group.

Know another school hot-lunch vendor?

Feel free to send me a message so I can consider adding more vendors to this list. Include the business name, location, public contact details, food offered and any information about delivery to Markham schools. If you share prices, include the date and whether they are school prices or regular menu prices.

Details will be checked before a listing is added or updated. Please share business information only—not student names, class lists or children’s personal details.

Suggest a vendor or correction

Parents pay through School-Day

For the school-run program described in this guide, parents pay for hot lunch through School-Day—not through this website, a volunteer’s personal account or a separate restaurant checkout.

Keep the three steps separate

  1. Parent payment. The school publishes the hot-lunch offering, term dates, price and deadline in School-Day. Parents use their own School-Day account and follow the school’s instructions.
  2. School order. The designated school staff and hot-lunch team reconcile confirmed orders and payments, then give the vendor the agreed quantities and necessary class-sorting details. Confirm the process with the office; do not assume every vendor integrates with School-Day.
  3. Vendor invoice. The supplier invoices the school under the agreed arrangement. Authorized school staff arrange payment through the school’s approved process, and the program’s income, costs and fundraising balance are reconciled.

Confirm the school’s actual payment costs and refund process with the office. YCDSB’s School-Day Q&A says the item price includes a cost-recovery component; it does not publish a universal percentage for this hot-lunch program. Supplier-platform fees listed elsewhere are not School-Day fees.

Other platform information: Healthy Hunger

Reference only—not the parent payment route recommended here. Healthy Hunger is separate from School-Day. Its fees and direct-parent ordering arrangements do not apply automatically to a school collecting payments through School-Day.

Healthy Hunger

An ordering and fundraising platform—not a food supplier. Its available restaurants are determined by your school’s address.

Published fees: who actually pays?

  • School platform: advertised as free.
  • Restaurant: 11% order fee.
  • Manual events with an unregistered vendor: 4.5% event fee.
  • Parent card payment: $0.30 + 3% per transaction.

These are different charges to different parties. Do not subtract all of them from council fundraising. Confirm the applicable fee and calculation base for your arrangement.

Fundraising, menus & logistics

The coordinator sets the selling price; fundraising is paid by monthly cheque. Restaurant menus, delivery costs, minimums and class packing need individual confirmation.

Term planning and payment timing

For a volunteer-managed program, plan T1/T2/T3 ordering windows with clear deadlines. Confirm whether the platform and school can support your term-based workflow without volunteers making repeated manual changes. The platform’s published cutoff is normally five days before lunch; school instructions may differ. Parent receipts are available online.

For a serious delivery issue, the school FAQ says to contact support before 1 p.m. local time to hold restaurant payment. Agree on school-approved invoices and reconciliation.

Keep ordering manageable for volunteers

My recommendation for a volunteer-run hot-lunch program is to organize orders by term or another fixed block—not offer ongoing date-by-date ordering flexibility. Repeated changes can mean extra work updating class lists, meal counts, payments and vendor instructions.

A practical T1 / T2 / T3 approach

  1. Open one ordering window per term. Publish the menu, all lunch dates, prices and one clear deadline. Families make their selections for that period before it closes. Confirm the final class lists and quantities with the vendor, and avoid routine day-to-day changes.
  2. Collect parent payments through School-Day. Paying by term avoids asking families to pay for the full year. Any instalment arrangement must be approved and set up by the school; do not assume it is enabled. Payment timing should not mean reopening meal choices each week.
  3. Set a small, clear exceptions process. Agree with the school and vendor how to handle new students, dietary or medical changes, absences, refunds and school closures. Name one contact and publish applicable cutoffs. Families who need financial help should have a discreet school-approved route.

This is an operational recommendation, not a YCDSB-wide ordering rule. Confirm what your school and chosen platform allow. Review menus and pricing before the next term opens.

How much could your school raise?

Enter your vendor quote and a proposed markup. The estimate subtracts meal costs, delivery and other expenses—not just the food price.

Hot-lunch fundraising calculator

The starting numbers are an example, not a supplier quote or recommended price. All money inputs are CAD and should include any tax your school actually pays.

Added to the vendor meal cost. Confirm the school and vendor permit it.
Enter 0 only when no extra delivery charge applies.
For example: packing, sorting or school-funded supplies.
3% is an example—not a verified School-Day rate. Enter only a cost confirmed by the school office; do not count it twice if already included in other costs.
How many lunch days are you planning?

Use your school’s ordering periods. For one term only, set the other two to 0. Count actual lunch dates, excluding holidays and closures.

Optional: extra meals, refunds and fixed fees

These start at 0. Enter only costs or credits that are not already counted above.

School-funded or spare meals with no parent payment. Uses the same meal cost.
Only needed for a fixed fee. A parent may pay for several lunches in one transaction.
Actual credits against costs, not the retail value of free food.
Count only a documented entitlement. Do not count a discount twice.

Calculates on this device. No student names, contact details or payment information are collected or transmitted.

Estimated net fundraising

$5,376.00

30 lunch days · 3,600 paid meals across your plan

Parent meal price$8.00
Average net per lunch day$179.20
Average net per paid meal$1.49
Where the money goes
Parent meal payments$28,800.00
Meal costs-$21,600.00
Delivery-$600.00
Other daily costs-$360.00
Council-paid payment fees-$864.00
Parent refunds$0.00
Supplier credits + cash rebate$0.00
Estimated net fundraising$5,376.00

$2.00 add-on per meal = 33.3% markup on food cost. Parent price excludes any checkout fee charged separately to the family.

Assumes the same orders, prices and daily costs on each lunch date. Paid meals are also billed by the supplier; extra billed meals are optional. Percentage fees apply to parent meal payments before refunds. No unpaid volunteer time is costed.

Markup is not the amount you keep

A $6 meal sold for $8 adds $2 before expenses. That is a 33.3% markup on food cost, but a 25% meal gross margin. Delivery, packing, payment fees and refunds reduce the money left for the school.

Keep the parent price transparent

Show the meal price, the fundraising component and any separate checkout fee. If the supplier pays a rebate instead, set the add-on to $0 and enter the documented rebate. Run separate estimates when terms have different prices or participation.

Get a quote you can actually compare

Ask every shortlisted vendor the same practical questions. Do not agree to a program based only on the price of one meal.

The six things to get in writing

  1. Food and price: dishes, portion sizes, meal inclusions, tax, minimum quantities, discounts, price expiry and whether T1/T2/T3 prices can be held.
  2. Delivery: preparing kitchen’s address and distance from school, route and other stops, safe transport/holding, exact school entrance, lunch periods, arrival window, delivery fee, closure/cancellation rules and an urgent contact for late or missing meals.
  3. Packing: individual meal labels, class/room sorting, separate class totals, any packing fee and who prepares the final order file. Use only necessary student information.
  4. Fundraising: permitted markup or rebate, payment date, volume conditions, free meals/extras and who may use them. Do not count complimentary food as cash.
  5. Payment: parents pay through School-Day; confirm the supplier accepts consolidated school orders and invoices the school. Agree on itemized quantities and fees, deposits, school payment due dates/methods, credit notes and reconciliation.
  6. Term-based ordering and fair payment: T1/T2/T3 menus, fixed order deadlines, term payments or approved instalments, a manageable exceptions process for new students and dietary changes, absences/refunds and discreet school-approved financial support.
Copy a short request to send to vendors
We are comparing hot-lunch options for [school name and address] in Markham, with approximately [number] meals on [dates/day of week] and lunch at [time]. Parents will pay the school through School-Day. Please confirm you can accept consolidated school orders and invoice the school, rather than requiring parents to pay you directly.

Please send your current menu and portion prices, all taxes/fees, minimum order, delivery window, individual labelling and class-sorting arrangements. Please also confirm fundraising markup/rebate options, complimentary meals, school invoicing, payment terms and refunds. We prefer term-based orders across T1/T2/T3 with fixed deadlines, rather than ongoing date-by-date changes; please explain how you can support this workflow and agreed exceptions.

Please identify the preparing kitchen’s address, expected route and journey time, temperature-controlled transport/holding arrangements, current inspection information and the contact person for both setup and delivery-day problems. Include quotation expiry and supporting nutrition, ingredient and allergen information for the proposed school menu.

Replace the brackets before sending. No message has been sent to any supplier.

Food handling and school approval: essential checks

Keep the planning simple, but do not skip the safety review.

  • Confirm the program, ordering/payment process and fundraiser with the principal under the school’s current board requirements. A vendor listing here is not board approval. YCDSB policies.
  • Use an inspected food source and verify the actual preparing location—not just the business mailing address. Ask York Region about the school’s obligations for a new food program. York Region school food safety.
  • Plan safe receiving, holding and distribution with the school. York Region’s guidance uses 4°C or colder for cold food and 60°C or hotter for hot food requiring temperature control. Agree on checks and what to do if a delivery is unsafe. School food-service guidance.
  • Review the actual menu against applicable school-food rules, not a general vendor claim. Obtain current ingredients and cross-contact procedures; never assume “nut-free” marketing guarantees safety for a particular child. Ontario school-food standards.

Research checked September 12, 2026. Supplier pages are generally undated. Information is based on public supplier websites, not direct confirmation or a school-specific contract. This is a shortlist, not an exhaustive directory or ranking. Exact coverage, contacts, prices and terms can change.

Addresses are labelled by their published purpose. Preparing kitchens, individual inspection records and current board approval have not been independently verified. All supplier links are provided for checking details—not as an endorsement.


Get new parent guides by email

Subscribe for practical parent resources and education updates.